top of page
  • Mandy Williams

Proud of Pride

This man is participating in the first ever Pride event in Uganda in 2012.



When I look at this photograph, I wonder where he worships God and shares fellowship with other Christians. Where does he belong? Where is his spiritual home?


This picture takes me back to 2007 and my own visit to Uganda. It was my first experience of Africa and I loved it. It is a glorious continent with such joyful people. It’s a land pulsating with dance and song, prayer and gratitude.


I visited as a priest of the Anglican Church and a guest of the Bishop of Kigezi. We were treated like royalty wherever we went. It was quite embarrassing but hugely humbling too. I received the warmest of welcomes from my sisters and brothers in the Christian churches there.


But I didn’t know then what I know now.


I attended a village celebration for a new communal tap that offered the people living there fresh water and renewed hope. In Uganda, the church is a leading force in community development projects such as these and employ their own engineers, who are revered more than any clergy. It was a joyous and colourful occasion. There were all the colours of the rainbow. Colours that enrich our world. Colours of hope, of vibrancy and life.


But I didn’t know then what I know now.


I worshipped in ram packed churches that proclaimed the love of God from the rafters, a church who claimed to welcome all, including the Batwa tribe of pygmies who had travelled in from the nearby forest. As we assembled in this church, there was a thunderous sound of dancing bare feet reaching the ears of the congregation before the magical appearance of this wonderful tribe of pygmies in a cloud of dust. The message seemed clear: All are welcome here. God is good. I had never experienced such jubilation and excitement in worship: singing, dancing, praising God. I fell in love with this place and its people.


But I didn’t know then what I know now.


Of course, not everything was celebratory. I visited orphanages full of children, many of whom had lost parents to HIV and Aids. I saw older siblings parenting younger siblings, in abstract poverty. I saw people lying in hospital beds dying of malaria whilst I popped my life saving drugs. My heart ached for this country of contrasts.


But I didn’t know then what I know now.


I didn’t know that the Ugandan Government still punishes those who are from the LGBTQIA community.


I didn’t know that this country still passes laws that make it illegal to be anything other than heterosexual.


I didn’t know that the Ugandan Church is not open to all but openly preaches against same sex relationships as an abomination.


And I didn’t know it because it was never spoken about. The conversations were never had, I did not look beyond what I saw. I didn’t ask those important questions of the country and church that welcomed me so warmly.


Once I knew this, everything changed. I couldn’t ignore this travesty of injustice. I felt the need to seek forgiveness for my ignorance, for my complicity and for being part of a non-inclusive church. Forgiveness for not being aware of the undercurrents of prejudice, hatred, and persecution in this beautiful land.


When I look at the picture of that young man at the first PRIDE event in Uganda, I wonder where he is now and how his life is turning out. Is he living his life authentically? I wonder about all members of the LGBTQIA community of Uganda and for those in other countries across the globe who are treated as criminals, sub-human, nobodies.


In this PRIDE month, we are extremely proud to stand alongside members of the LGBTQIA community. The intersectionality between sexuality and faith is sometimes tricky but I cannot have faith in a God who does not celebrate the diversity of humanity. In the Christian tradition we believe that everyone is made in the image of God. If we accept that our sexuality is as integral to us as our DNA then we must be assured in the knowledge that God loves, accepts, and celebrate us ALL. No ifs or buts. I have known too many people who feel that they cannot have a faith and be gay or cannot have a faith and be transgender. This is not right. There are still far too many Christian denominations who refuse to marry same sex couple. The Church in Wales is one of them. I hope and pray that this will change soon.


As a Faith team, we are explicit about the fact that ALL are welcome. We go out of our way to show love and compassion to those who feel marginalised by society and in particular religious organisations. Just the same as I celebrate the fact that all faiths are welcomed and invited into our spaces, so I celebrate the fact that those of the LGBTQIA community are too. We do genuinely believe that ALL are welcome. During this month we are pleased to be joining other parts of the university in celebrating PRIDE month. We have several events happening which you can find HERE.


The Listening Service is a confidential listening service for all staff and students. We encourage people to come and chat with us about anything that might be concerning them, including their sexuality.


The LGBT+ Faith gathering meets monthly on Zoom, facilitated by our Associate Unitarian Chaplain, Rory Castle.


Whoever you are, wherever you have come from, know that you are welcome.

112 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page